Never too late (part II)

“Dad, what do robbers look like?”

This question had come up before once or twice. My theory is that it’s a remnant of the older one reflecting on an episode of Scooby, or Batman. 

“Well, they’re people. They can look totally normal.”

“But they only come out at night.”

“Well…”

“And they like, they like wear those masks?” He put his hands over his face covering it, except the eyes. I immediately thought of The Hamburglar from my childhood, in the prison stripes and black mask.

“Not always. They are people and the only difference is that they make bad choices”

“Dad, you know what? I am going to be a police man then, and I will stop them.”

“Oh really, I thought you were going to be an astronaut?”

“Nope, I am going to be a scientist.”

“Don’t you mean police man?

  “No. Know what? you know how I’m good at science and stuff? Maybe I will be a scientist-fireman.”

“Right.” I said. My head began to hurt a little.

“ACTUALLY,” he yelled, (yes, we were on the bus) “you know what I am really gonna be?”

“Honestly, I have no idea.”

“A water-ninja.”

pause.

“What?”

“A water-ninja.” he reiterated louder thinking I just could not hear him.

“Tell me, what is a water ninja?”

“They are like ninjas, but they are like, in the water.”

“They live underwater?”

“No they come out for like, nap and lunch and stuff.”

“Can they breathe underwater?”

“Um. Yes? I think so”

“It would help…”

“And they would like come out for naps, but then when sea animal needed help, like a shark was attacking a whale, or an octopus was hitting a shark, I would go like help them and stuff.”

“A water-ninja?”

“Yup.”

“Hm.”

“Hm.”

About D.Jeinkins

a married father of two boys, trying in desparation to preserve his sanity
This entry was posted in Dad, to read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

