Gifts

Dad! Come here.

The older one whispered yelled and started to lead me into their room. Usually, this is a precursor to him showing or telling me something that I would not be happy about.

Once inside with his younger brother spilling out trains on the floor, he checked to see if Mom was still in the bathroom getting fixed up to go out with me.  He shut the door.

Uh-oh. I thought

Dad! He said somewhat in an excited panic. I was think we should go to the store and get Mom, like a diamond ring for her, um, day…

My heart swelled.

That’s a great idea! But diamonds are expensive. How much money do you have?

I’m, uh, I’m not sure, I don’t remember where my Disneyland wallet is.

Oh.  That’s ok. Maybe we can get her something else?

Like…uh…

Lightning McQueen! The younger suggested.

That’s what you want. The older one scolded. Maybe like a bracelet or something? Or I could make her something?

I gunna go to making da choo-choo train. The younger one offered.

Well, keep thinking. I know you’ll come up with the perfect gift for her.

Yes, cause it’s her day and we need to love her very much.

That’s a pretty great gift itself.

Dad? When do kids get their day? When, like they could like get presents and people tell them they love them?

Um, you mean besides Christmas, your birthday, Easter, Halloween, and Valentine ’s Day? You get enough presents. But you know what?

What?

I’ll tell you I love you every day.

Ok. He said going back to thinking about Mothers Day. But I still really want a real Bow and arrow.

Happy Mother’s Day

About D.Jeinkins

a married father of two boys, trying in desparation to preserve his sanity
This entry was posted in to read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

