omen

Hi Dad! The older one’s chipper voice answering the phone took me by surprise.

Hi bud. How’s it going?

Good.

Are you being a good boy?

Yup.

Are you being kind to your brother?

Yup, he keeps yelling at us.

That happens. You just set a good example for him.

I will. Hey Dad?

Yes?

I need to put you on hold.

Oh. Ok.

The sound of the phone set down is followed with a fair amount of crashing and banging. For several minutes.

You still there? He says after a while.

Um, yes. What are you doing?

Oooohh nothing…stuff. I’m just playing ninjas.

Oh.  Ok.

How’s your work today?

It’s fine. I miss you guys!

Well, then why don’t we come and get you?

Well, I can’t. I got to be here right now. Soon though, ok?

Ok. I love you. Bye.

Bye. Don’t drive you Mom crazy.

(giggle) Ooookkkkkk!

(click)

About D.Jeinkins

a married father of two boys, trying in desparation to preserve his sanity
This entry was posted in to read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to omen

  1. lourana echanis says:

    Want to hear from you regularly-so add me to your mailing list!

Leave a Reply

