Wednesday thoughts

Dad? Are you done yet?

No. I still have a full basket to do.

The younger one lied down on his back, looking up at the beams of the bedroom ceiling. I worked at a clipped pace in order to get the clothes stacked and put away before he got bored enough to start to un-fold things. I could tell I had at least a few moments left, as he starred in quiet contemplation.

Dad you know what? I want to make cheese popsicles. Did you know that? You can do that really? You get cheese and put it on a Popsicle stick and put it in the freezer.

Really? That sounds interesting. 

Dad, are you done yet now? Dad, you know there’s a place in the city of South America that you go into and there is a pool up on the sky roof and you go and get a key for it and a ladder drops down for you to climb it and you can swim up there. And I want to go to it. Do you know that?

I did not know that. That sound more fun then a cheese Popsicle.

Yeah. Are you done yet now Dad? Dad you know what? I one time when I was a big boy and you were a baby I did a flip off the bed and you landed up into the laundry basket.

Now you’re just being silly!

No Dad. No. I was a big grownup when you were a baby! 

OK! Ok. Fine, calm down.

You calm down. You baby. (Laughing) and you wear a diaper. And all you do is folding laundry.

Some days, it feels that way, but at least I have you to keep me company.

Are you done yet now Dad?

About D.Jeinkins

a married father of two boys, trying in desparation to preserve his sanity
This entry was posted in to read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

